Catriona McPherson

Catriona McPherson writes a series of 1920/30s detective stories and a separate strand of contemporary psychological suspense. Her novels have won two Anthony awards, two Agathas, three Bruce Alexanders, two Macavitys, a Lefty, a Falchion, and an IndieFab Gold in the USA and been shortlisted for a CWA dagger, an MWA Edgar and three Mary Higgins Clark awards. Catriona was born in a village outside Edinburgh in 1965 and educated at Edinburgh University, leaving with a Ph.D. in Linguistics. She has been writing full-time since 2000  and, since 2010, has lived in northern California.





Dandy Gilver series

After The Armistice Ball, Constable & Robinson,  2005

The Burry Man’s Day, Constable & Robinson, 2006

Bury Her Deep, Hodder & Stoughton, 2007

The Winter Ground, Hodder & Stoughton, 2008

The Proper Treatment of Bloodstains, Hodder & Stoughton, 2009

An Unsuitable day for a Murder, Hodder & Stoughton,  2011

A Bothersome Number of Corpses, Hodder & Stoughton, 2012

A Deadly Measure of Brimstone, Hodder & Stoughton, 2013 

The Reek of Red Herrings, Hodder & Stoughton, 2014

The Unpleasantness in the Ballroom, Hodder & Stoughton, 2015 

A Most Misleading Habit, Hodder & Stoughton, 2016

A Spot of Toil and Trouble, Hodder & Stoughton, 2017

A Step So Grave, Hodder & Stoughton, 2018

The Turning Tide, Hodder & Stoughton, 2019


Last Ditch Series

Scot Free, Midnight Ink, 2018

Scot and Soda, Midnight Ink,  2019


Standalone crime

As She Left It, Midnight Ink, 2013

The Day She Died, Midnight Ink, 2014

Come to Harm, Midnight Ink, 2015

The Child Garden, Midnight Ink, 2015

Quiet Neighbors, Midnight Ink, 2016

House Tree Person (UK The Weight of Angels), Midnight Ink, 2017

Go To My Grave, Minotaur, 2018

Strangers At The Gate, Minotaur, 2019


Writing as Catriona McCloud

Growing Up Again, Orion, 2007

Straight Up, Orion, 2008


Short Stories

“One Scareful Owner” in Strangely Funny, Sarah E Glenn (ed) 2013

“The First Mrs Coulter” in Echoes of Sherlock Holmes, Laurie King & Les Klinger (eds) 2016 

“A Butler is Born” in Murder Most Historical, Charlaine Harris & Verena Rose (eds) 2017 

“Kissin’ Don’t Kill” in Killing Malmon, Dan & Kate Malmon (2017)

“Twelve, Angry” in Low Down Dirty Vote, Mysti Berry (ed) 2018

 “Barnet Fair” in Trouble and Strife, Simon Wood (ed) 2019 


Writing Awards


Sue Feder Memorial Macavity 2012

Lefty (Best historical) 2013

Agatha Award (Best historical) 2013

Lefty (Best historical) 2014

Indiefab Gold 2014

Lefty (Best historical) 2015

Anthony Award (Best paperback original) 2014

Silver Falchion (Best Literary suspense) 2015

Anthony Award (Best paperback original) 2015

Sue Feder Memorial Macavity 2015

Agatha Award (Best historical) 2017

Lefty (Best historical) 2017

Lefty (Best humorous) 2019



CWA Ellis Peters Dagger 2005

Lefty (Best paperback original ) 2014

Sue Feder Memorial Macavity 2014

Edgar Award (Best paperback original) 2015

Macavity Award (Best novel) 2015

Mary Higgins Clark Award 2016

Agatha Award (Best novel) 2016

Macavity Award (Best novel) 2016

Anthony Award (Best novel) 2016

Mary Higgins Clark Award 2017

Agatha Award (Best novel) 2017

Silver Falchion (Readers’ Choice) 2018

Lefty (Best humorous) 2020

Mary Higgins Clark Award 2020



National President, Sisters in Crime 2014-15

Toastmaster Left Coast Crime 2016

Toastmaster Malice Domestic 30 2018

Toastmaster Bouchercon 2020

Guest of Honour California Crimewriters’ Conference 2020

Guest of Honour Sleuthfest 2020

Guest of Honour Left Coast Crime 2021